ART ⇆ TERRITORY > Artistic Research Residencies for Artists Resident in Catalonia, the Balearic Islands or Occitania (France / Spain)

ART ⇆ TERRITORY is a project establishing a network of residencies for the promotion of artistic research and production in Catalonia, the Balearic Islands and Occitania, promoted by a collaboration between Idensitat, Casa Planas (Palma), La Escocesa (Barcelona) and Le BBB Centre d’art (Toulouse).

A ⇆ T is launching with a joint open call for three residential artistic research projects, in three specific contexts that share a common conceptual framework around the concept of ‘the transperipheral’.

With this joint call, based on three temporary residences, A ⇆ T Network offers the possibility of carrying out artistic projects that tackle the idea of testing boundaries, using the very arts centre which plays host to the residence as a space from which to advance a critical reflection. Ideas are encouraged which re-evaluate and transgress the classic two-dimensionality between centre and periphery, contributing to a conceptual spin, with the involvement of the A ⇆ T network nodes.

The open call is aimed at anyone who, working in the fields of art, creation and contemporary thought, is interested in conducting research, a residency and training in a different location. Applicants must be resident in Catalonia, the Balearic Islands or Occitania, and there is no age limit. Applications by individual, teams, collectives or other kinds of organisation will be accepted.

Residencies will last 15 days in each centre comprising the A ⇆ T network, according to the following schedule:

  • 24 August – 6 September: Residency period in Casa Planas.

  • 1-15 October: Residency period in La Escocesa.

  • 1-15 November: Residency period at Le BBB.

The three selected proposals will each be provided with the following resources:

  • A fee of 1200 euros.

  • 500 euros to cover production.

  • Travel expenses and allowances provided by participating centres.

  • Accommodation and work space in the participating centres of the A ⇆ T network.

Deadline: 24 May 2020

Find all details online