Dox Box > Mouatheqat / Women in Dox Fellowship Programme (Germany, Tunisia)


Launching its first cycle in 2020, Mouatheqat is a nine-month fellowship incubator for female professionals to get hands-on experience and exchange the necessary skills to write, research, direct, produce and edit a documentary film. Its main focus lies in the exploration of and experimentation with different forms of storytelling emanating from individual perspectives, reflecting their own voices and experiences. Through an interconnected series of modules implemented online and offline between Berlin and the African/Arab region, the programme will guide the fellows through a holistic and collective filmmaking process from idea to delivery of a documentary film. Mouatheqat is designed to connect and cross pollinate intergenerational, interdisciplinary and intercultural imaginaries of women who are keen to transmit their voices to a worldwide audience.

The fellowship is divided into 3 phases:

  • Phase 1 - Story Incubator in Berlin (January – March 2021): Turning ideas to shootable scripts, this phase charts the filmmaking process until pre-production.

  • Phase 2 - Implementation in Tunisia (April – June 2021): Adapting scripts, location scouting and shooting with local production partners in Tunisia

  • Phase 3 - Post-Production and Distribution in Berlin (July – September 2021): Editing and post-production finalisation inclusive of devising a festival strategy for distribution.


  • Accommodation for 6 months in Berlin (Phase 1 and 3).

  • Accommodation for 3 months in Tunisia (Phase 2).

  • Return ticket from home city to Berlin.

  • Visa and insurance costs.

  • Travel costs to Tunisia and to one international film festival/market.

  • Monthly stipend for living costs and inner city travel.

  • Production grant for 2 collective documentary film projects.

The countries in focus change for each edition of Mouatheqat. For its first edition, fellows of the following countries and their international diasporas are eligible: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Mauritania, Sudan, Tunisia.

Deadline: 12 November 2020

Find all details online