Het Nieuwe Instituut (The Netherlands) > Call for fellows ' BURN OUT'

Since its founding in 2013, Het Nieuwe Instituut has pioneered research in architecture, design and digital culture, fostering programmes, exhibitions, lectures, archival investigations and publications in the Netherlands and internationally.

Through its annual Call for Fellows, Het Nieuwe Instituut’s Research Department acknowledges and gives visibility to research projects offering departures from established modes of thinking and to become a catalyst for collective forms of knowledge. For this iteration of the Call for Fellows, the Research Department has selected the theme of BURN-OUT, and has invited 2017 fellow Ramon Amaro to be the guest curator of the Call.  

Het Nieuwe Instituut Research Fellowships are 6-month positions based at Het Nieuwe Instituut in Rotterdam, the Netherlands from September 2018–February 2019. They include a monthly stipend of 2000 EUR, and a return trip from the country of residence.

Het Nieuwe Instituut invites applicants from all citizenships and places of residence. The Research Fellowships are open to all degree levels in all disciplines. Equal priority will be given to those without a degree or institutional affiliation who can also demonstrate a high level of creativity, critical thought and other potential in their respective fields. Neither a curriculum vitae nor letters of recommendation are requested. There is no age limit for applicants.

An international jury will select the three fellows. Jury members include Ramon Amaro (Associate Lecturer in Interactive Media: Critical Theory and Visual Cultures, Goldsmiths, University of London), Marina Otero Verzier (Director of Research, Het Nieuwe Instituut), Nishant Shah (Dean of Graduate School at the ArtEZ University of the Arts), Sandi Hilal(architect, co-director Decolonising Architecture Art Residency (DAAR) and Jasmina Tešanović (author, feminist, political activist, translator, and filmmaker). More information about the jury members will be announced in the coming weeks.

Deadline: 1 June 2018

Find all details online