Open Society Foundations > Civil Society Leadership Awards

The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provides fully-funded scholarships for master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.

Applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible country

  • Demonstrate maturity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential

  • Have a bachelor's degree awarded before July 15, 2017 and an excellent academic record

  • Demonstrate professional experience in a relevant area

  • Demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at a level required for admission by host universities

  • Be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school in July or August 2018 and start their degree program in August or September 2018

  • Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country

  • Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development

The awards are available to citizens of the following countries:  Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Laos, Libya, Myanmar/Burma, Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. 

Awards are available for study in the different areas including Culture, History & Society, human rights etc.

Deadline: 15 July 2017

Find all details online