Lazurite Initiative : Grants for West/South Asian artists to collaborate with Taiwan

To foster deeper and more diverse collaboration in the arts among the regions of West Asia and South Asia with Taiwan, a grants programme is offered by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of China.

From exhibitions and performances to writing, filmmaking, or research projects, all interesting collaborative projects on aspects of Taiwan’s culture or society are welcomed. The collaborative portion of the project comes from having a Taiwan-based partner such as a school, civic group, or legal entity.

For the inaugural open call of the Lazurite Initiative (琉璃計畫), candidates can apply from any of the 36 eligible West or South Asian nations listed below: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bhutan, Georgia, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Maldives, Moldova, Mongolia, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and Yemen. 

The Lazurite Initiative offers funding for three categories of projects: A. Collaborative Cultural Projects Based in Taiwan; B. Collaborative Cultural Projects Based in West or South Asia; and C. Bilateral or Multilateral Collaborative Cultural Projects Based in West Asia, South Asia, and Taiwan.

To qualify for Category C, the planned proposal must take place in at least one overseas location apart from Taiwan, such as the home country of the recommended Western or Southern Asian national. Proposals that encompass bilateral or multilateral collaboration across two or more nations are welcome as well, but all projects under this category must include one event based in Taiwan.

Category A applicants are eligible for up to NT$1 million in funding per project; Category B applicants are eligible for up to NT$1.5 million in funding per project; and Category C applicants are eligible for up to NT$2.5 million in funding per project.

Deadline: 20 January 2017

Find all details online